The Government

Some explanations of the internal functions of the sisters’ government :

The Prioress General : Sr. Anne-Cécile DEVERLY

She was re-elected in March 2015. The Prioress General is the major superior of the Institute. She is elected for a period of 6 years by the General Chapter. She is charged with leading the congregation in faithfulness to its charism and communion with the Church.

The Prioress General is assisted by a council made up of the mistress of studies and 5 councilors.

The General Chapter is an assembly of approximately 30 sisters (elected by their sisters) that gather once every three years. It deals with the major affairs of the congregation, amends (or upholds) the constitutions and elects the main authorities. It is preceded by regional chapters in which sisters from each region meet with the Prioress General.

The perpetually professed sisters of each priory are charged with electing their prioress for a mandate of 3 years. Usually the priories are comprised of 5 to 8 sisters of whom at least 4 are perpetually professed.

The Mistress of Studies: Sr. Claire-Théophane

She was re-elected in March 2015. The mistress of studies is responsible for the doctrinal formation of the sisters, not only for the initial formation but also for doctrinal formation throughout their religious life. “She watches over the fidelity of this formation to the Church’s Magisterium and particularly to the recommendations of the Church for the Consecrated Life” (Constitutions).

She is elected for a three year period by the General Chapter.

The councilors

The councilors of the Prioress General are elected for a three year period by the General Chapter. They assist the Prioress General and represent her at the priories in the regions under their charge.

The council of temporal affairs

Appointed by the Prioress General, some lay friends of the Congregation assist the Government with temporal matters by contributing their professional expertise in legal, financial, fiscal, and social domains; (it should be noted that, by choice, the Congregation, generally speaking, does not own the buildings in which their priories are located).